बारह ज्योतिर्लिंग के नामी स्थान


मल्लिकार्जुन (श्रीशैलम)
महाकालेश्वर (उज्जैन)
ओंकारेश्वर (मामलेश्वर)
वैद्यनाथ (परली वैद्यनाथ)
त्र्यम्बकेश्वर (त्र्यम्बकेश्वर)
केदारनाथ (केदारनाथ)
भीमाशंकर (डाकिनीश्वर)
विश्वनाथ (वाराणसी)
भीमशंकर (गुंता)
रामेश्वर (रामेश्वरम)

If you are planning a spiritual journey across India, visiting the 12 Jyotirlingas is something that should definitely be on your list. These sacred sites hold immense significance in Hindu mythology and are believed to be abodes of Lord Shiva. Devotees from all over the world visit these divine places to seek blessings and find inner peace.

Introduction to Jyotirlingas:

The Jyotirlingas are considered to be the holiest shrines of Lord Shiva and are spread across different parts of India. These places are not just places of worship but are also architectural marvels and hold deep religious and cultural significance. The word “Jyotirlinga” is a combination of two words – “Jyoti” meaning radiance and “Linga” meaning symbol, representing the radiant symbol of Lord Shiva.

Importance of Jyotirlingas:

According to Hindu mythology, worshipping the Jyotirlingas is considered extremely auspicious and is believed to bestow immense blessings upon devotees. It is said that paying homage to all the 12 Jyotirlingas helps in attaining salvation (moksha) and liberation from the cycle of birth and death. Each Jyotirlinga has its own unique significance and is associated with various legends and myths.

List of the 12 Jyotirlingas:

  1. Somanath – Located in Gujarat, it is believed to be the first among the 12 Jyotirlingas.
  2. Mallikarjuna (Srisailam) – Situated in Andhra Pradesh, this Jyotirlinga is known for its scenic beauty and spiritual aura.
  3. Mahakaleshwar (Ujjain) – Located in Madhya Pradesh, it is one of the most prominent Jyotirlingas in India.
  4. Omkareshwar (Omkareshwar) – Situated in Madhya Pradesh, this Jyotirlinga is located on an island in the Narmada river.
  5. Vaidyanath (Parli) – Located in Maharashtra, this Jyotirlinga is associated with the healing power of Lord Shiva.
  6. Tryambakeshwar (Tryambakeshwar) – Situated in Maharashtra, this Jyotirlinga holds immense religious significance.
  7. Kedarnath (Kedarnath) – Located in Uttarakhand, this Jyotirlinga is nestled in the scenic Himalayan range.
  8. Bhimashankar (Dakini) – Situated in Maharashtra, this Jyotirlinga is known for its serene ambiance.
  9. Vishwanath (Varanasi) – Located in Uttar Pradesh, this Jyotirlinga is one of the most revered shrines in India.
  10. Bhushaneshwar – Situated in Orissa, this Jyotirlinga is lesser-known but holds immense religious significance.
  11. Bhimashankar (Gunat) – Located in Maharashtra, this Jyotirlinga is known for its tranquil surroundings.
  12. Rameshwar (Rameswaram) – Situated in Tamil Nadu, this Jyotirlinga is associated with the legendary tale of Ramayana.

Significance and Rituals:

Devotees visit these Jyotirlingas to offer prayers, perform rituals, and seek blessings for prosperity, health, and well-being. Abhishekam (ritual bathing) of the lingam with various sacred substances like milk, honey, and ghee is a common practice in these temples. Aarti (devotional song) is performed multiple times during the day to invoke the divine presence of Lord Shiva.

Planning a Pilgrimage:

If you are planning to visit the 12 Jyotirlingas, it is essential to plan your journey meticulously. Ensure you have enough time to cover all the sacred sites and make proper arrangements for transportation and accommodation. It is advisable to research about the history and significance of each Jyotirlinga before embarking on your spiritual journey.


Visiting the 12 Jyotirlingas is a spiritually enriching experience that allows devotees to connect with the divine and seek solace in the presence of Lord Shiva. These sacred sites not only offer a glimpse into the rich heritage of Hinduism but also provide a sense of inner peace and tranquility to all those who visit them.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

  1. What is the significance of the Jyotirlingas in Hindu mythology?

The Jyotirlingas are believed to be the holiest shrines of Lord Shiva and are considered manifestations of his divine light and energy.

  1. How many Jyotirlingas are there in total and where are they located?

There are 12 Jyotirlingas in total, spread across different parts of India like Varanasi, Ujjain, and Rameswaram.

  1. What rituals are performed at the Jyotirlingas?

At the Jyotirlingas, devotees perform rituals like Abhishekam (ritual bathing) and Aarti (devotional song) to seek blessings from Lord Shiva.

  1. Is there a specific order in which the Jyotirlingas should be visited?

There is no specific order in which the Jyotirlingas should be visited. Devotees can visit them based on their convenience and travel plans.

  1. Are there any specific days or festivals dedicated to the Jyotirlingas?

Maha Shivratri is one of the most auspicious festivals dedicated to Lord Shiva and is celebrated with great fervor at the Jyotirlingas.

  1. Can anyone visit the Jyotirlingas or is it restricted to certain individuals?

The Jyotirlingas are open to all devotees, regardless of their caste, creed, or nationality. Everyone is welcome to seek the blessings of Lord Shiva.

  1. What is the best time of the year to visit the Jyotirlingas?

The winter months, from October to February, are considered the best time to visit the Jyotirlingas as the weather is pleasant and suitable for travel.

  1. Are there any specific dress codes or guidelines to be followed while visiting the Jyotirlingas?

While there may not be specific dress codes at all Jyotirlingas, it is advisable to dress modestly and follow the customs and traditions of the temple.

  1. Are there any accommodations available near the Jyotirlingas for devotees?

Most of the Jyotirlingas have accommodations ranging from budget to luxury options for devotees to stay and experience a comfortable pilgrimage.

  1. Can non-Hindus visit the Jyotirlingas or is it strictly for followers of Hinduism?

    Non-Hindus are welcome to visit the Jyotirlingas and experience the spiritual energy and cultural richness of these sacred sites.



Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *